A cat forum. CatBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » CatBanter forum » Cat Newsgroups » Cat health & behaviour
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Cat's Coughing and Vomiting

Old May 24th 06, 09:22 PM

First recorded activity by CatBanter: May 2006
Default Cat's Coughing and Vomiting

Hi. My name is Sara, and this is my first time here. I'm just trying to find out some information on possible causes of my cat's cough, before calling the vet.

Our cat, Butthead, is a 1 1/2-year old Ragamuffin (long hair). Before we were married, my husband bought Butthead from the veterinarian/breeder that I worked for. Butthead lived with my husband and his parents for a few months. Then my husband and I got married and moved about an hour away. Our landlord said he would prefer if we didn't have pets, so Butthead continued to live my in-laws. Now my father-in-law is retiring, they plan on travelling, and we have had to take Butthead back (not that I'm complaining).

Anyway, not long after he moved here we noticed him coughing a few times a day. Initially I assumed it was just hairballs, but he never coughed anything up. Now, he will cough things up occasionally, but it's not a typical hairball. Working for a ragdoll/ragamuffin breeder, I became pretty acquainted with hairballs. What he does cough up is usually medium to dark brown in color, and smells like feces. Besides that, he seems fine. No runny nose, no lethargy.